‘Nauguration January 20th, 2009

What a blessing! Today, Inauguration Day, Barack Obama and his administration were officially sworn in!

Beautiful! I was there on the mall to see it in person!  This officially made Barack Obama the 44th President of the U.S.A.!

Lemme tell u i was feeeeening to go to the Inauguration.  So after much deliberating, going back and forth with a potential host, and even a couple of arguments, I finally decided to go down to Washington D.C. By myself.(kinda).  I just hate waiting on people and the wishy-washiness that ensues. Especially with something of this caliber. Armed with some Seltzer water, A Mc Donald’s bag (sans french fries), my iPod, and some Animal Crackers, I was on my way.

I took the 3:45, (well it turned into the 4:30 cuz thats when it left) Greyhound bus down.  I hadn’t slept the entire day prior, so as soon as I sat down I knocked out.  By the time I awoke it was 8AM and I was sitting in the nation’s capitol.

Musta been about-61 degrees outside but it was ok.  I was there to see Barack.  Walking up the small hill from the station you could see the top of the dome from  the bottom.  & Sheesh there were a lot of people.

My mother, who’d caught an earlier bus had been walking around as well.  However, she had the tickets.

The Purple Tickets.

After walking around tryna figure out where D Street & Independence St. were, I doubled back to New Jersey Ave. by the Purple entrance where not only the parental was, but a crowd of roughly 39 million.  All tryna get in.  However we did meet these men (one a Nupe) who were really nice, and would have been cool had they been my peer than my grandmother’s age. You know that ain’t stop them from asking if I was married…

But we made it! And snagged a darn good spot at that.  We were just in time for…

the appetizer…

…and the main course!

Of course that small flub was a little stranger in person, cuz I wasn’t sure if I was listening right.  Nonetheless, it was official.  Then came the 21 gun salute, the cheers from the crowd & the flag waving.  It was the 1st time I’d even bought an American flag, nonetheless waved it.

I got home just in time to watch the Neighborhood Ball.  And even though I was pooped & Sting put me to sleep, I woke back up when this clip was showing:

If this doesn’t @ least make u get just a lil’ choked up, ur disgusting.

Nonetheless,  no bit of news information seems to be complete nor is it exempt from Beyonce.  Somehow this woman finds her way into everything, and strongarming herself into performing at the Inaugural Ball should come as no surprise.

I was actually glad that she spoke.  For once you got to see her true emotions- not scripted. She actually sounds good when she starts using her own words.

The Obamas attended 10 balls that night, but one thing is for certain.  This day was beyond historical, it was stupendous, incredible.  It is hard to measure with words what seeing Barack Obama sworn in as President of The United States was comparable to.  Its because it wasn’t.  It was fantastic and I am so blessed and glad I got to go and see it in person down on the mall.

There is definitely more on the way!

January 20, 2009

Inauguration Day

Barack Obama, joined by his wife Michelle, takes the oath of office from Chief Justice John Roberts to become the 44th president of the United States at the US Capitol in Washington

(Elise Amendola/AP Photo)

Barack Obama, left, joined by his wife Michelle, takes the oath of office from Chief Justice John Roberts to become the 44th president of the United States at the U.S. Capitol in Washington

https://i1.wp.com/eyeball-series.org/prezsec/pict444.jpg

US President Barack Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama during the Commander-in-Chief Ball at the National Building Museum in Washington DC.

Love,

Ms. Officer

3 Comments Add yours

  1. coffee says:

    i don’t doubt that Obama will be a vast improvement for the U.S. and the rest of the world

  2. Nicole says:

    YAY! it’s official ❤

  3. history is great, chk me out one day if u can rdb

Leave a Reply

