John Mayer Responds To Dropping The N-Word

And what an appropriate time to let it trickle off of your tongue: in an interview during Black History Month!

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/.a/6a00d8341c630a53ef012876f72a8b970c-800wi

He got waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay out of bounds on this one.

****5 minutes ago, after letting his words on Playboy linger in the internet air all day, John wrote this on his Twitter.  Back story is below:****

johncmayer

Re: using the ‘N word’ in an interview: I am sorry that I used the word. And it’s such a shame that I did because the point I was trying

to make was in the exact opposite spirit of the word itself. It was arrogant of me to think I could intellectualize using it, 5 minutes ago from web

because I realize that there’s no intellectualizing a word that is so emotionally charged.

This is extremely disheartening to me.  Not only am I a huge John Mayer music junkie, I oft daydream about what it would be like to horizontally Rock & Roll with him.

…Perhaps its just the act I think about every 52 seconds and then it is the guys who are interchangeable.

See: http://msofficer.com/2010/02/06/damn-vol-6/

At any rate, I’ve finally decided that the things John Mayer said in his latest interview with Playboy.com were beyond disappointing.  The reason why I spent all morning grappling with this issue is because if you listen to Mayer or are one of the > 3 million who follow him on Twitter– you understand what he usually sounds like when he talks:

Fun.

So you can see the non-amazement that occured when I read this:

(Via Playboy.com)

PLAYBOY: Masturbation for you is as good as sex?

MAYER: Absolutely, because during sex, I’m just going to run a filmstrip. I’m still masturbating. That’s what you do when you’re 30, 31, 32. This is my problem now: Rather than meet somebody new, I would rather go home and replay the amazing experiences I’ve already had.

PLAYBOY: You’d rather jerk off to an ex-girlfriend than meet someone new?

MAYER: Yeah. What that explains is that I’m more comfortable in my imagination than I am in actual human discovery. The best days of my life are when I’ve dreamed about a sexual encounter with someone I’ve already been with. When that happens, I cannot lay off myself.

Not any cause for alarm.  This is the JM we all know and love.

PLAYBOY: Do black women throw themselves at you?

MAYER: I don’t think I open myself to it. My dick is sort of like a white supremacist. I’ve got a Benetton heart and a fuckin’ David Duke cock. I’m going to start dating separately from my dick.

PLAYBOY: Let’s put some names out there. Let’s get specific.

MAYER: I always thought Holly Robinson Peete was gorgeous. Every white dude loved Hilary from The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air. And Kerry Washington. She’s superhot, and she’s also white-girl crazy. Kerry Washington would break your heart like a white girl. Just all of a sudden she’d be like, “Yeah, I sucked his dick. Whatever.” And you’d be like, “What? We weren’t talking about that.” That’s what “Heartbreak Warfare” is all about, when a girl uses jealousy as a tactic.

https://i2.wp.com/assets.hulu.com/shows/key_art_21_jump_street.jpg

I was even mildly concerned here.  He then doubles back and does that “hey have a Black friend too his name is Lamont” thing but with women.  Do I agree with the word choice? No. Do I understand what he’s trying to say? Yes.  He doesn’t like Black women, which is ok, everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and believe it or not: preference. When dealing with mates, people tend to lean one way or another in terms of race. I happen to be one of those rainbow people and not have one, which is probably part of the reason why I can look at this so calmly from all angles.

Yet

This is when I nearly raised my  eyebrows off of my head:

MAYER: Someone asked me the other day, “What does it feel like now to have a hood pass?” And by the way, it’s sort of a contradiction in terms, because if you really had a hood pass, you could call it a nigger pass. Why are you pulling a punch and calling it a hood pass if you really have a hood pass? But I said, “I can’t really have a hood pass. I’ve never walked into a restaurant, asked for a table and been told, ‘We’re full.’”

Just don’t get where he’s going with this.

I’m usually in tune with Mayer & his reasoning– he usually has a beginning, middle & end to  a point he’s trying to make, no matter how quirky the subject.  That does not occur here. It is incoherent babbling…perhaps he had the idea formed in his head, yet it failed to connect.  Without a main subject in this sentence, he was just tossing in “nigger” because it was part of that intrinsic want for people of all races to utter the N-word within earshot of another human being & live to tell about it it was something to say.

It made me think of that time when a joke was told…but somewhere along the way it went from a joke to some sort of psychotic rant-confession-admission of guilt:

Mayer goes on to say

PLAYBOY: It is true; a lot of rappers love you. You recorded with Common and Kanye West, played live with Jay-Z.

MAYER: What is being black? It’s making the most of your life, not taking a single moment for granted. Taking something that’s seen as a struggle and making it work for you, or you’ll die inside. Not to say that my struggle is like the collective struggle of Black America. But maybe my struggle is similar to one black dude’s.

I wasn’t aware that he was such an expert on the Black experience, but ok.

https://i1.wp.com/2.bp.blogspot.com/_aY9nzCtaE7I/SH6_sGrdZCI/AAAAAAAACc8/gkk6w0lJhvk/s320/Dave%2BC.gif

So do I gather that he is a racist? No.

It’s just an extreme let down that someone so talented, insightful and intelligent could fall to such ignorance with many unnecessary sentences.

Ironically enough– I think with this article, he did exactly what he set out not to do:

PLAYBOY: Why are you so anxious about never getting married?

MAYER: What if I meet a woman and it’s love at first sight, and this woman has the greatest night of her life by telling me to fuck off because she knows my reputation? I always say, “Turning me down is the new sleeping with me.” What is a guy supposed to say to a girl who says “You do this all the time”? Girls always say that. Sometimes they say “I’ve been warned about you.” But I can undo that in a couple of days. I have a line for that: “Keep your warning for a while; let’s take it slow.”

https://i1.wp.com/www.delawareonline.com/blogs/uploaded_images/johnmayer-784861.jpg

Another one bites the dust.

Love,

*Ms. Officer

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Dawn says:

    Let’s talk about this idiot for a second. Not a Mayer fan to begin with, my only real meaningful impression of him came from that Dave skit with the music. Priceless! However, I think Mr. Mayer needs to go to Identity Counseling. This man doesn’t know if he wants- to be an asshole, the funny guy, or the lover. He’s very very confused. AND AN IDIOT. Did he really, really think it would be funny to say what he did? Let’s continue what he also managed to say during the interview: Jessica Simpson- her sex was like crack-cocaine. I mean as much as a woman would want to know how AWESOME she was in bed, fact is, they both aren’t together and thats kind PPB (Personal Pussy Business) to be sharing to Playboy. ANd then to say “you won’t go into details about you relationship with Jennifer (Aniston) cause you don’t want to hurt her feelings” or some shit, its like YOU ARE AN ASS. And on multiple levels. I don’t remember hearing about you getting a hood pass. Even if you did among your “group of friends” its not particularly MEDIA worthy news. Infact, its more than likely, no let me rephrase that 100% likely that you will be misunderstood, misinterpreted, or just looked at stupidly. Stick to music Mayer, even though I don’t happen to enjoy you, and otherwise keep your mouth shizut.

  2. MsOfficer says:

    The ying to my yang.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Sheeeeeeeeeeeeeiiiiiiiiiiittttttttttttttttt

  4. jd rourke says:

    Lemme start by saying that – unlike John Mayer – I love what you’ve got to say! I’m not a fan of John Mayer, but I don’t have anything against him either. Clearly, he’s said some dumb things and at times he’s behaved like a cliched rock star. Still, I don’t think he’s a racist based on what he said. I think he’s speaking before thinking, and when any of us do that enough, we find ourselves in trouble for it.

  5. Denise says:

    Glad you commented on JD’s blog…..this site has been added to my favorites!
    Still think Mayer is an un-hot douche, though.

  6. JMH says:

    This is random, as I’m here from a link off a link off a stumble…
    But…
    Am I really the only person who got what he meant? I understand completely what he’s talking about. He should’ve known he couldn’t get away with it, which is kinda what he was trying to say. Maybe he was more casual because of the magazine in question. It’s a guy magazine, so you don’t need to censor yourself like you do around girls. (And I am a girl, but I also know that’s how guys think)
    What he was saying is that he doubted he could be considered to have a “hood” pass, because if he did, he’d be able to say the n word, like black people do. Eminem has a hood pass, because he can say stuff like that and nobody says boo. Mayer gets his ass crawled up, which proved his entire point right there. I feel bad for him, and I don’t like him personally or musically. He just said the truth. No matter how accepted by the black community people might think he is, he’s still white and so he’ll never completely be a part of it.

  7. wowsers says:

    wow I’m a black and i used to be a john mayer fan but after this noo way i’m deleting all his music fuck him lol

  8. wowsers says:

    black female*

Leave a Reply

